With the culpable tension in the air, Mumbai 5s’ in-form player, Colombian Caro Angellot’s hat trick took Mumbai a step forward into the Premier Futsal League, beating Kolkata 5s with a 3-0 lead at half time. The Marquee players Ryan Giggs (Mumbai 5s) and Herman Crespo (Kolkata 5s) were winked out by Angellot.

In the second semi finals, Kochi 5s left Goa 5s dead-beaten with 2-1. Chaguinha headed Kochi to a 1-0 advantage over Goa 5s before Vampeta equalise to make it 1-1. Kochi’s defense was on top form for the remainder of the match as Chaguinha then scored the goal that would take them to the finals.

The semi finals ended with two deserving teams making it to the finals. Mumbai 5s beat Kolkata 5s with a scoreline of 4-2 and Kochi 5s beat Goa 5s 2-1.

The final was to be played between Mumbai 5s and Kochi 5s. At the end of a gruelling 40 minutes of football, Mumbai 5s came out on top and won the Premier Futsal League against Kochi 5s on penalties 3-2 to mark the end of a successful tournament. In the first quarter of the game, Kochi 5s scored the opening goal. Foglia came close to equalizing in the second quarter of the game but failed to find the back of the net. Kochi 5s continued to play with their counter attacking strategy in the game, gaining confidence after grabbing the lead, opening up the Mumbai 5s defence several times while doing so.

Cue super-sub Angellot, who danced into the spotlight to score the all-important equalizer. With an excellent sense of control he juggled the ball and volleyed it home to take the game to penalties. Casalone missed the penalty and Ryan Giggs’ led team, Mumbai 5s capitalized on his error to emerge as the conqueror of the Inaugural Premier Futsal League.

The finals result:
Mumbai 5s – 1 [Caro Angellot] beat Kochi 5s -1 [Moraes] via 3-2 on penalties.

The players that proudly walked away with Individual awards were:
Indian Player of the Tournament: Johnathon Piers [Bengaluru 5s]
Highest Goal Scorer: Caro Angellot [Mumbai 5s]
Player of the Tournament: Chaguinha [Kochi 5s]