The UBA Pro Basketball League, also known as UBA India, is organized by the United Basketball Alliance of India. This is the first ever professional men’s basketball tournament aiming to promote the sport of basketball in India. In the UBA Pro Basketball League, there are 8 franchise teams divided into 2 divisions, competing in the tournament among each other:-

Haryana Gold Pune Peshwas
Punjab Steelers Bengaluru Beast
Delhi Capitals Chennai Slam
Mumbai Challengers Hyderabad Sky

In the first season the teams played in a double round robin format where the top two leagues with the best record in league matches from each division advanced to the finals. Chennai Slams were crowned as the Inaugural Champions after beating Pune Peshwas, both belonging to the southern division. Chennai Slams and Pune Peshwas had already faced each other twice in the league stages and split the games at 1-1. Accustomed with each other’s plans and strategies, everyone had high expectations that the final match was going to be an exciting confrontation. Impertinently, Pune Peshwas went dingy and the Chennai Slams scored with ease and grabbed the trophy with a win of 81-49.


In the second season, each team played against each of its division opponents four times along with one cross division opponent. Delhi Capitals won the 2nd season and took the trophy home after defeating 1st season champions, Chennai Slams, with a huge difference of 92-65 in a best of three series. After losing the first  game, Delhi Capitals had come back strong to stay in the battle. They picked up from where they left and had a breathless clash as both teams matched each other with attack after attack, but after the timeout Delhi changed gears and closed the quarter leading 45-31.