Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa lost their women’s doubles stage opener to Japan’s Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi 15-21, 10-21, resulting in a poor start for the Indian badminton team.

Saina Nehwal, who will be in action later today, will be attempting to revive India’s hopes of a medal in Badminton. Other representatives of India in men’s singles and women’s singles will be Kidambi Srikanth and PV Sindhu respectively. Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy make the men’s doubles team.

Other Indians contending on Thursday include Anirban Lahiri and SSP Chawrasia in the men’s individual golf event. The hugely anticipated doubles bout of Mirza and Bopanna will also feature today after play got cancelled on Wednesday due to rain.

In other news, both Deepika Kumari and Bombayla Devi Laishram lost in three sets after coming up short against Ya-Ting Tan of Chinese Taipei and Alejandra Valencia of Mexico. Attri and Sumeeth Reddy did not have a good day as they succumbed to a 21-18, 21-13 loss to team Indonesia.