While the likes of PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik are out there basking in the glory of their achievements, Dipa Karmakar is being made to wait just a tad bit longer as she has to face one more opponent before taking that long overdue break- MA exams. The 23-year-old from Agartala appeared for her second semester exams at the Distance Learning Centre of Tripura University just one day after returning home from the Rio Olympics of 2016.

Karmakar elaborated on this to India Today by saying, “I will go home and appear for my MA exams on Monday. I think sports persons are really very intelligent and they don’t have to prepare a lot for their exams. I will get a day and will try my best to write well in the exam”.

Dipa had already written her name boldly in India’s history books when she became India’s most successful gymnast till date at the recently concluded Summer Olympics. Notably, Dipa lost out on a podium finish by a mere 0.150 points, demonstrating the level of competition that was prevalent in Rio this time around. On top of everything she’s achieved already, she is also in line to be awarded the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award later this year.

“I will try extremely hard to get gold medals in the forthcoming Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and 2020 Tokyo Olympics. I shall try to deliver my best in future.”, said a positively vibrant Dipa, who shall leave no stone unturned to win the medal that she so desperately craves.