Yuvraj Singh, who is going to turn 35 in December, has said that he still has the same hunger and desire to play cricket for the Men in Blue, and he wishes to continue playing for the national side for the foreseeable future.

One of the cleanest hitters of the ball, Yuvi played an integral part in helping India win the 2011 World Cup, and he wants to make his presence felt in the next edition in 2019 in England and Wales. Notably, the Punjab batsman was diagnosed with cancer after his man-of-the-series performance at the World Cup of 2011. As he has done time and again, he fought like a tiger and made a comeback in October 2012 against New Zealand in the T20 series. But sadly, he has struggled to rediscover his ferocious form since the World Cup.

He was also selected for the World T20 earlier in the year, where he again failed to impress. But one thing is certain, Yuvraj Singh is not one to give up, and he has reiterated the same by declaring his intention of playing for the country in the 2019 World Cup.

Yuvraj is currently playing first class cricket, where he is captaining India Red in the Duleep Trophy.

“I have been training pretty hard in the off-season for whatever opportunities I get going forward. Obviously international cricket is why I am still playing. I want to come back and represent my country. Hopefully if that happens, whenever I want to hang my boots, if I can sustain for another 2-3 years I will be proud of myself. My target is to play the 2019 50-overs World Cup. If you have to be in the mix you have to perform to your best potential. If I can do that, I’m sure I’ll have chances,” he was quoted as saying.

